Meet the Staff

A Year 3 teacher chats to some children in the Library
DT teacher with a class of senior pupils

Innovative and committed staff are the school’s most valuable resource and there is a strong culture of continuing professional development with staff regularly attending external courses, as well as weekly after school workshops and sharing best practice. 

Staff embrace the different learning styles of children and incorporate varied approaches into lessons.

Senior Leadership Team



Mr Robert Upton, BSc Hons, PGCE, MA (Ed), NPQH 

Deputy Headmaster

Mr Simon Head, B Ed, M Ed - Maths and Core Skills Teacher


Assistant Head (Upper School)

Miss Claire Thompson, BEd Hons - English and General Studies Teacher 


Assistant Head (Lower School)

Miss Carly Skillett, BSc Hons, PGCE - Core Skills Teacher



Mr Jamie Lee, LLB Hons 


Head of Learning Support

Ms Laura Ball, BA Hons, Grad Dip, QTS, NASENCO - RS and Core Skills Teacher



Mrs Rachel Arris, BSc Hons, PGCE - Head of Geography, Equestrian Team Manager

Mrs Erin Austin, BA Hons, CTLLS, Prof Cert Mgmt - English Teacher

Mrs Emma Bell, BA Hons, PGCE - Head of Art, Religious Studies Teacher

Mrs Laura Bretherton - Teaching Assistant

Mrs Gail Brundle, BA Hons, PGCE  - Head of  English, Head of Drama

Mrs Magali Butler, Licence, PGCE - Head of Classics, French Teacher

Mrs Georgie Carrig, BECEd - Year 4  Form Teacher

Mrs Catherine Daines, B Ed Hons  - Mathematics Teacher

Mr Neil Davis, BA Hons, PGCE - Head of History,  Head of RS 

Mrs Becky Ellis, BEd - Head of Girls’ Sport

Mrs Ali Emmins, NVQ3 - Teaching Assistant

Miss Claire Foster, NVQ4, HLTA - Teaching Assistant 

Mrs Tracey Hayter, BA Hons, BTech, GTP - Head of Food Technology

Mr Kian Heard - Teaching Assistant

Mrs Hilary Hull, NVQ3 - Teaching Assistant

Mrs Jennifer Hustler, BMus, PGCE - Director of Music

Mrs Hannah Jenkins, BA Hons, PGCE, MA - Year 3 Form Teacher

Miss Henrietta Jenkins, BSc Hons, PGDE - Head of  Science

Mr James Lawson, BSc Hons, PGCE - Director of Sport

Mr Peter Meier, BA Hons, QTS - Head of  Computing and Technology

Mr Tristan Morris, Ind PGCE - Sports Teacher, Facilities Manager, Head of Year 6

Mrs Sue Parkin, BA Hons, PGCE - Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs Amanda Parsons, NVQ3 - Teaching Assistant

Miss Hannah Roberts, BSc Hons, PGCE - Sports Teacher, Head of Years 7 & 8

Mrs Antonia Robinson, BA Hons, PGCE - English Teacher, Head of Year 5

Mrs Gill Rowe, BSc Hons, PGCE - Year 4 Form Teacher

Mrs Sarah Sables, BA Hons, PGCE - Year 4 Form Teacher

Mr Bruno Santino, B Eng, GTP - Head of Mathematics

Ms Phillipa Taylor, BA Hons, PGCE, TEFL - French and Spanish Teacher

Miss Claire Thompson, BEd Hons  - English Teacher

Mrs Philly Towell, BA, PGCE - Head of Years 3 and 4, Year 3 Form Teacher

Mrs Olivia Upton, BSc Hons, PGCE - Science Teacher

Mrs Amy Wilson, BSc Hons - Science Technician

Mrs Alexandra Young, BSc Hons, PGCE - Head of  Computing and Technology



Mrs Janice Bates, NVQ 3 - Teaching Assistant

Mrs Suzanne Belshaw, BEd Hons - Reception Form Teacher

Mrs Luci Bland, NNEB - Teaching Assistant

Mrs Sandra Davies, BA Hons, PGCE - Teaching Assistant

Miss Samantha Dearing, BSc Hons, PGCE - Year 1 Form Teacher

Mrs Angie Hall, BA Hons with QTS  - Reception Form Teacher

Mr Kian Heard - After School Club Assistant

Mrs Lyndsey Hendry, BSc Hons, QTS - Deputy Head of Pre-Prep, Year 2 Form Teacher

Miss Vanessa Nightingale, BEd Hons  - Year 2 Form Teacher

Miss Lisa Poulton, NNEB - Reception Teaching Assistant

Mrs Julie Voller, B Ed Hons - Year 1 Form Teacher



Miss Karen Barber, National Diploma in Childhood Studies - Nursery Manager

Miss Emma Sewell, Level 3 Diploma in Children's Learning & Development - Deputy Nursery Manager 

Miss Cassie Adams, NCFE Cache Level 3 (Early Years) - Nursery Practitioner

Miss Zabrina Ford, NVQ5 - Nursery Practitioner

Miss Katie Pilgrim - Nursery Practitioner

Mrs Lesley Sigley, NVQ3 Early Years Childcare & Education - Nursery Practitioner


Director of Chess 

Mr Andrew Martin, International Master, Senior FIDE Trainer


Music and Arts Visiting Staff

Mr Kieran Daniel, MA - Guitar, Ensembles

Mrs Rachel Gough, MMus, BA Hons, ARCM - Violin, Piano, Ensembles

Mrs Helen Laird,  BA Hons, DipABRSM (Teaching) - Cello, Ensembles

Mr Barney Lowe, BMus Hons, DipABRSM - Brass

Mr Andrew McBride, ABSM - Drums, Ensembles

Mr Jim O’Neill - Keyboard

Miss Sarah Newman, BA Hons, PGCE - Voice, Piano, Ensembles

Mrs Katharine Richman, MA, PGCE - Piano

Miss Emma Sewell, ARAD - Ballet, Modern Dance

Mr Paul Smith - Woodwind, Ensembles


Other Visiting Staff

Mrs Lisa Cox - Sports Assistant

Mrs Louise Hancock - Sports Assistant

Mr Kenneth Hopkins, - Sports Assistant

Mrs Natasha Middleditch - Swimming Coach, Sports Assistant

Miss Katy Sheffield -  Sports Assistant



Mrs Clare Boyd - Matron

Mrs Fiona Campbell, BA, CA - Finance Assistant

Mrs Penny Charles, BA Hons - Marketing

Mrs Karen Farr - Accounts Assistant

Miss Joanne Foster - Secretary/Receptionist

Mrs Clare Garner, BA Hons, CSBM - Finance Assistant 

Mrs Laura Knight - PA to the Headmaster 

Mrs Tanja Weddell, AMDIS Cert in Admissions - Registrar

Mrs Teresa Wright, NVQ3 - Data and Compliance Officer

Mrs PJ Young - Secretary/Receptionist



Mr Adam Smith, CITB - Head of Maintenance

Mr Richard Nickless - Assistant Head of Maintenance

Mr Laurence Pacey                          

Mr Dean Reece

Mr Michael White


Mr Wolfgang Schultz - Minibus Driver


Other Staff

Mrs Laura Bretherton - School Shop

Miss Angie White - Housekeeping Supervisor